On Politics, Sex, and Religion

They say, don’t talk about politics, sex and religion with friends and relatives.

Why not I say, that’s a very old fashioned idea. If you can’t talk about everything these days, especially with your friends, where are we? Left talking about family and football. Family is important, but to me it’s time to get real, and we must, learn to agree to disagree. (Alan Jones and Tony Abbott’s divisional tactics don’t apply here!)

1. Politics: Why I am “Going for the Redhead!” 

The David and Goliath Election, September 14, 2013.

ImageHaving been a swinging voter for most of my life, ALP during the Whitlam/Hawke/Keating era, LNP during the Howard time, and switching back to Labor, with Kevin Rudd in 2007, I value my vote, but wish more people would put their brain into gear, before they simply lap up what the Mainstream Media (MSM) dish up.

You probably know this but the MSM can be very naughty and use innuendo, sensationalism, and omission, all to great effect to firstly encourage you to buy their newspapers or watch their news, so you can buy the products advertised, and make them money. That’s all OK, as long as we remember what their “meaning of life” is. Thank God or “whoever” for the Internet.

I am Nationalistic enough to think if you are an Aussie,  you love your country, and treasure and protect what Australia has and is lucky enough to offer others. Hence, like me, you must believe in Australians and that as a thinking group of people, we can and we must choose a responsible Government.

However, living in a Democracy, as we do, part of this means we must accept the “majority decision”, a point Tony Abbott has refused to accept, and in Opposition turned politics into a confrontationist and divisive event, causing discomfort amongst friends, a fact I absolutely find un-Australian and abhorrent.

However, in Australia where voting is compulsory, we all must spend a little time, in deciding who do we trust and whose policies will best serve the people as a whole, not just for me or my hip pocket nerve, the rich, nor those on welfare or the disadvantaged, but for the good of everyone.

ImageAs you have guessed, I must be upfront and admit “I am going for the redhead, not the d—head” but, unlike those who can get sucked into the daily news, and may be thinking of voting the other way, I am content, because I have researched the personalities, have a reasonable grasp of the policy ramifications and have made a conscious choice. Please do not think I am forcing my ideas upon you, the reader, as I ask you, if you think we are on opposite paths, to at least hear me out, and take my research and these notes as a helpful act, rather than just a rant by a “silly” old goat!

I suppose, the main thing I am saying is, please think about your vote, look critically at what the media are telling you, sort out the crap from clay, and even then, you may be misled, they will tell you anything to get a grab, a “gotcha” as they say, and they can twist and turn it, just to make a good story, nothing about the truth, responsible reporting or who they hurt in the process!

So, this why I am voting the way I am. Good luck in your deliberations, and I hope my blog helps you separate what is important and what deserves your attention and understanding.

A well rounded summary of the events leading up to the present (April 2013), and posted on social media, imploring we give the PM a fair go, is: http://www.independentaustralia.net/2013/politics/a-fair-go-for-prime-minister-julia-gillard/

If you don’t have time to follow up any of the more detailed links I have posted, please read this. It will give you the overview of exactly why, this PM needs another shot. If she fluffs it this time,  well she has had a good go and someone else can have a turn. I have every confidence she will do the opposite and go down in history as one of our greatest.

On the matter of trust?

MSM11.      Do you trust the mainstream media including the ABC, and the outspoken shock jocks to give you fair and balanced information, on which to base your opinion?

 2.           Julia Gillard’s Alleged Lie: Have you seen the full statement Julia Gillard made about the carbon pricing promise, which was cut to 7 words to make it look like a lie?  Links: https://rodfairgo.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/julia-did-not-lie-links/

3.            Kevin Rudd’s Alleged Stabbing: Did you know that there is conclusive evidence, Julia Gillard did NOT “stab Kevin Rudd in the back” and ever since that fateful day in June, 2010, she has been a victim of viscious media misinformation?

KRuddSummary: On the 23rd of June 2010, after falling polls for Labor, Fairfax reported in the early morning newspapers, that Kevin Rudd was canvassing the support of his colleagues and questioning the loyalty of his deputy, Julia Gillard. This upset, Julia, as she had believed, she had been pedantic, about being a very loyal deputy, despite Kevin’s severe autocratic and chaotic management style, so at about 10am, they arranged to meet at 7pm, that evening. Kevin’s management style, his support canvassing, Julia being upset at Kevin’s distrust, and the meeting arrangement, were all points that were never revealed to the public until well after the event. During the day, Julia’s colleagues asked her to challenge, but (my opinion is as Julia has not commented) she refused, reserving her decision until after she met with Kevin.

However, Kevin Rudd on seeing the 7pm ABC news which reported, with little conclusive evidence, a sensational revolt was underway, became unresponsive (probably lost his cool) to Julia Gillard’s attempt to seek a resolution, whereby, as a reluctant, loyal deputy, but knowing her colleagues were urging her, during the meeting, on the spot decided to challenge.

Kevin Rudd, at his following press conference, seemingly cool on the outside, but livid on the inside, made himself out to be the victim and thanks to the sensational story-telling press, the emotive, back stabbing lie was born.  Link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TqXq5n4-ta4

If this doesn’t work on your IPad, try YouTube – Prime Minister Julia Gillard did NOT stab Kevin Rudd Also try: https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BxHThJqulB8LTmFkUktBajlTWUk/edit?usp=sharing

Abbott asleep.4. Can you honestly vote for a person, who openly admits to repeated lying, been guilty of countless serious, immature, selfish, questionable, behavioural issues such as bullying, changes his mind with the wind, and shows little commitment to anything but getting into power for personal gain? His “disciples” as I call them, show the same, little commitment and a bullying approach, mostly men, all born to rule, all confrontational in their attitudes.

I have compiled a Tony Abbott character trait link file here: https://rodfairgo.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/real-tony-abbott-links/ 

5. Have you seen Julia Gillard’s amazing talents and caring personality come to the surface, when she is allowed to answer uninterrupted, her dignity, her breadth of knowledge, her commitment, her genuineness, and her understanding of the issues, the history, the loyalty to her country, the respect her colleagues have for her, all of which is displayed at Community Cabinet meetings and elsewhere, but never reported honestly in the MSM. If not please see: https://rodfairgo.wordpress.com/2013/04/22/real-julia-gillard-links/

6. Did you notice the most worrying comment, Tony Abbott made at his National Press Club address in late January, this year, was, when in the Q&A session, he was asked when he was Health Minister, why had he changed the Medicare Safety Net threshold after giving a cast iron pledge not to change it, and given this why should the people trust him ever again, his answer was, “the truth is that I was rolled by my senior colleagues on that particular issue,” and then followed by the most disturbing comment, “Then, I was a man under authority, now, if I could put it crudely, I am the authority – and that’s the difference.”  What does this say? Another Kevin Rudd, where his opinion is better than a combined view, and that we must accept his rule and/or we will have it forced down our necks no matter what. (Sounds like a “Dictator in training” comment to me and remember, Tony only won the Liberal leadership by one solitary vote, said to be that of Peter Slipper, and now he says he is the one and only “authority”!)

peta-credlin7. Have you noticed, Tony Abbott’s minders keeping him away from “intellectual” questioning at every opportunity, because invariably, almost every day, he makes a stupid comments or offends someone, like putting his shoe on a table in a foreign country, or inferring a woman cannot run the country as good as a man, or falling asleep in front of inquiry contributors. How can we even contemplate, electing a person like this as our leader?

8. Talking about Tony Abbott’s minders, did you hear of Dr Mark Roberts, Tony’s policy advisor, whilst under the influence of alcohol, threaten a leader of an indigenous schooling organisation to cut their  funding in a most dramatic manner, and then effectively “bribe” a journalist, by saying, he would spy and report on Tony Abbott in return for the journalist, not reporting his threats. What great loyalty, and what does this say about Tony Abbott’s ability to choose staff, looks like he chooses on their ability to bully? This man could be our next Prime Minister!

On the matter of policy?

1. Do you honestly think, the mainstream media and the big mining company owners openly back the Liberal/National Parties with bags of money and “in-kind” support, if they didn’t think their policies were going to suit them or if they didn’t have a say which benefited them, to get some hold over the the Government? What does this say about the LNP for pampering to their interests? This attitude really sums up the LNP policy goals, that is: For the big end of town. Yes, you can argue, if these guys make profits, they flow down the chain, but, do they? Unfortunately, look at Rupert Murdoch, its all about money! Look at Gina Rhinehart, richest woman in the world, opposes the mining tax on excessive profits, and she still wants more. I’d say she is addicted to money.

2. Do you honestly think that the ALP, a social issues party, would have policies, which would knowingly harm jobs, workers , immigrants, asylum seekers, indigenous people and the middle classes. Admittedly, not every ALP policy or program is perfect, nothing or no-one ever is, but, and with goodwill by minor parties, and hopefully, in the future by a constructive opposition, better policies can be derived and implemented. (This is supposed to be how Parliament works, it’s just that Tony Abbott has changed the game plan)

3. With your view on Question 2 in mind, how can you ever give credibility to Tony Abbott’s opposition style of obstruction and negativity at every turn, and just dismiss this, and believe his rhetoric, and then trust him to be committed to important “for the good of all” policy, like the environment, programs for the people as a whole, and do something for a genuine reason, and not just because “he knows best” and/or, as he was “born to rule”? I am sorry, Tony Abbott lovers, but I cannot!

4. With the Australian economy in good shape, and having got through the Global Financial Crisis by building long lifetime, education improving, community infrastructure with local jobs (supporting local economies),  Gonski educational reforms in debate and countless environmental and social betterment policies passed in legislation and waiting to be implemented in due course, how can you honestly contemplate, throwing out 6 years of massively successful Government, in favour of a party who promises to undo or at the very least wind back, most, if not all of these good policies?

5. In regard to voting Green or Independant, yes they have their good points, and have played (for the most part) a constructive role in the Gillard minority Government, but my suggestion is, just think about your preferences. Don’t waste or give your preference to those who possibly don’t deserve your primary vote.

My Political Conclusion

lightbulb1Please Note, in a similar way that Julia Gillard describes her take on religion and her “atheism”, (see quote below), I am not and have never been a member of, nor do I intend, joining a political party as I don’t like the formality and the regimentation, but accept that if a view is to be canvassed, this is one forum available. However, I  have “Liked” the ALP website as a resource, and would if I had any “spare” cash, donate to the cause on a one time only basis, reserving my rights as a swinging voter, into the future.

The only thing I ask you, is: Please don’t waste your vote!

Julia Gillard on religion: “in my younger life, – I would have said early 20s – I made an active decision that whilst the values meant a lot to me – and continue to mean a lot to me – the formal elements of religion didn’t capture my heart, my soul, my mind.” (Source:

http://www.pm.gov.au/press-office/transcript-interview-steve-austin-abc-brisbane-1

 )

2. Sex

You really didn’t expect me to prattle on about sex did you? My wife says, delete that bit on sex! Read into this what you will. I like it, and I promised you a sex story, and “sex sells” so they say!

BlackC1Not much to say here, except to say, that men are generally, ruled by their vitals, are obsessed with it and the feeling of (dare I use the word) orgasm.

Women, as a rule, don’t have the same physical attraction to sex, as men, but do enjoy the emotional side, love the intimacy of cuddles, loving to be loved, cared for, and pampered etc.

If you have a good partner, and I feel sorry for those that don’t, the trick is to recognise the needs of each other and work things out, never holding back on any issue that may come up, and, I mean, any issue, including men understanding women’s issues such as  menopause, the like and vice versa. I must say, though, women do seem to get the worse end of the stick when it comes to our bodies. For me respect always, and talk, talk, talk.

At least, Tony Abbott, recognized his “manliness” superseded his “godliness” when he crashed out of “priest school”, although one “post” I saw, reckoned he was kicked out (not confirmed).

Enough said, but happy to discuss at length privately.

3. Religion: Particularly the organised type.

FromHell2Heavn2Just finished reading a difficult but compelling book by Chrissie Foster, “Hell, on the way to Heaven”, Chrissie’s family’s story of the of how a child abusing Catholic Church Priest, sexually assaulted their two older girls, causing undue and immense harm to all concerned, how the Catholic Church and it’s teachings, are designed (not deliberately) to protect child molesters, and the Foster families fight for adequate compensation from the Church.

I can only say, after reading this book, no-one in their right mind, would ever look a priest in the eyes ever again, particularly Goerge Pell.

Yes, religion has a role, teaching right from wrong, morals etc, but to me it must be a private thing, and must teach tolerance and understanding of ALL God’s and ALL beliefs.

Too many religious people, are blind followers.

CONCLUSION

Before I close, I tried to find some light relief, offered by both Julia Gillard and Tony Abbott. Julia’s was quite easy, the famous “I’m Red, he’s always Cross” line at a Red Cross do, (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nsoSReLGbDI) but for the life of me, poor Tony is devoid of humour, except his awful laugh, where the world seems to be laughing at him.(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CGFjIOYwvmE).

I started this blog, with a comment about talking with friends about these three, seemingly difficult topics. I hope I have helped break down the barriers that our Tony together with the mainstream media, has (in my and in a lot of other’s people opinion) created. http://www.mamamia.com.au/news/ditch-the-bitch-seriously/

Thank you for reading my blog.

If you wish to contact me, disagree or whatever, please comment below, or message me at my Facebook “Rod Fairgofourall” page.

Best Regards.

Rod Fairgofourall

This entry was posted in Australian Politics. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to On Politics, Sex, and Religion

  1. nell1mn says:

    Thanks for the good article Rod, enjoyed it.

  2. lmrh5 says:

    Reblogged this on lmrh5.

  3. Rod,Thank you, knowledgeable, factual, superbly presented.

  4. Hi Rod, l don`t really trust or like the political `duopoly` we have at the Federal or State/s level and have quite enjoyed the `watermelon` Federal Govt. which has annoyed both big parties The best bit has been the total unhinging of the embedded media as far as l`m concerned.

  5. crashskeptic says:

    Rod Fairgo wrote:

    2. Julia Gillard’s Alleged Lie: Have you seen the full statement Julia Gillard made about the carbon pricing promise, which was cut to 7 words to make it look like a lie?

    Rod, you seem to be implying that the interview has been selectively edited. How so?

    Because nothing in the full transcript of the interview contradicts or mitigates her promise not to introduce a carbon tax.

    For example, she never even mentions a “carbon pricing scheme” or a “carbon price” or a “price on carbon”, or whatever spin people want to put on it.

    This is her full statement:

    There will be no Carbon Tax under the government I lead. What we will do is we will tackle the challenge of climate-change. We’ve invested record amounts in solar and renewable technologies. Now I want to build the transmission lines that will bring that clean, green energy into the national electricity grid.

    I also want to make sure we have no more dirty coal-fired power stations. I want to make sure we’re driving greener cars and working from greener buildings.

    I will be delivering those things, and leading our national debate to reach a consensus about putting a cap on carbon pollution.

    And I couldn’t help but notice that you did not post a direct link to the unedited interview even though it’s freely available online…

    In any case, people can verify the above full quote by watching it themselves:

    Also note, at the 2010 election, Gillard was actually promising a “People’s Assembly” to build consensus and she also promised nothing would come into effect until after the 2013 election. So amusingly, she ended up breaking multiple promises, even though the public focuses on the high-profile “soundbite” one..

    I think the Australian people are well within their rights to regard her as untrustworthy.

    • rodfairgo says:

      Thank you Crash, I think I did give the full link in my “Links” file, but yes, I did not give a direct link.

      We could talk about whether the PM defines a “tax” differently to putting a “price” on Carbon till the cows come home, and but you label her as “untrustworthy” because of perceived “back peddling” on the assembly (which I agree was innapropriate) and your comment about not applying anything till after the 2013 election ( I cannot recall this).

      I can only say you are entitled to what you think, but I am more concerned about the “manufacturing” of a deliberate lie by the media, shock jocks etc, by doctoring her statement, and obviously I am more forgiving of her, given her post election negotiations with the Greens and Independants in forming the minority Government, than it appears you are. But I would also challenge you on Tony Abbott’s commitment levels, given his previous statements agreeing with a “simple carbon tax” etc, and the myriad of misleading statements he makes. He of course would say these misleadings’ were NOT lies, due to finer detail of the statement etc. On balance, I cannot compare the “trustworthiness” of the 2 prospective leaders, a point I hope we will agree to disagree on.

      There will be thoughts and perceptions on all issues, by all personalities. I accept your right to disagree, I have put mine on paper, and thank you for pointing out your disagreement with parts. I hope you enjoyed some of my post, and good luck in your decision. Regards

  6. rodfairgo says:

    Diana Klein (FB)wrote: “Love your work Rod. Especially the ‘menopause’ part. lol But seriously, I am going to print your blog and use at the next family gathering.. You’ve done this cool logical step-by-step explanation supported with links, great!”

  7. Fed up says:

    Rod, Mr. Abbott. just before the last election raised the proposition that a carbon tax would be better. That was what was being discussed at that time. A carbon tax or a emission trading scheme.

    ANYONE LISTENTING TO THAT INTERVIEW WOULD HAVE BEEN WELL AWARE OF THAT FACT.

    Very good article.

    One needs to listen carefully to every word Abbott utters.

  8. Pingback: One Hell of a Woman – Julia Gillard and Conviction | rodfairgo

Leave a Reply

